Original release from Atlanta City Council

Council Communications
Atlanta City Hall
55 Trinity Ave. SW
Atlanta, GA 30303

May 2, 2024

Atlanta City Council Member Marci Collier Overstreet Statement on IGA with Atlanta Fulton County Recreation Authority for Improvements for John A. White Park

ATLANTA — District 11 Atlanta Council member Marci Collier Overstreet issued a statement today following the City Council’s approved legislation for $30 million in bonds, secured by an intergovernmental agreement (IGA) with Atlanta Fulton County Recreation Authority, to finance the costs of design and related improvements to John A. White Park.

“Advocating for this thoughtfully chosen concept, securing funding, and engaging the public in developing this dedicated senior space has been a priority. The programming needs of our seniors are crucial, and recognizing their well-being is important to our community. The intergovernmental agreement with Atlanta Fulton County Recreation Authority marks a significant investment of $30 million in enhancing John A. White Park, a beloved community space in District 11,” said Overstreet. “These funds will support the design and related improvements to ensure that our park continues to serve as a vibrant hub for recreation, leisure, and community engagement. This project is the very first dedicated space for seniors and underscores our commitment to the quality of life for all residents. We are investing in our neighborhoods’ health, happiness, and vitality by making greenspace enhancements a priority.”

On April 15, the Atlanta City Council passed an ordinance authorizing the City of Atlanta and Atlanta Fulton County Recreation Authority to issue revenue bonds for the design, acquisition, construction, installation, and equipping of golf and senior center facilities and related improvements at John A. White Park (24-O-1152).

Justin Cutler, commissioner for the City of Atlanta Department of Parks and Recreation, added, “The passage of this legislation marks a significant step forward in our commitment to enhancing recreational opportunities for all residents of Atlanta. Through partnerships with Atlanta Fulton County Recreation Authority, we are investing in the future of John A. White Park, ensuring that it continues to be a vibrant hub for golf, senior activities, and community engagement. This initiative exemplifies our dedication to move Atlanta forward by creating accessible, high-quality recreational facilities that enrich the lives of our citizens and contribute to a healthier, happier city.   We are excited to welcome our first dedicated senior space for those that have given so much to Atlanta!”

Kerry Stewart, the Atlanta Fulton County Recreation Authority executive director, expressed, “After several years of planning, I am more than excited to see this project come to fruition. Our seniors have created so many opportunities for us, and it is only fitting that we create a dedicated place for them to convene, dine, exercise, learn, dance, and thrive. This facility will be a special place for our senior residents in southwest Atlanta and I am honored to have worked with Council member Overstreet in its planning and development.”

About Atlanta City Council
The Atlanta City Council is the chief policy-making body for the City of Atlanta. It acts by considering and enacting all laws that govern the City. The Council also approves the operating and capital budgets for the City as recommended by the mayor, and it continually monitors revenues and expenditures for local government operations. The Atlanta City Council reviews and has final say on many land-use and zoning matters. Major economic development projects for the City also fall under the Council’s consideration.

The Council is comprised of 12 districts and three at-large posts. Council representatives include: Council President: Doug Shipman; District 1: Jason Winston; District 2: Amir Farokhi; District 3: Byron Amos; District 4: Jason S. Dozier; District 5: Liliana Bakhtiari; District 6: Alex Wan; District 7: Howard Shook; District 8: Mary Norwood; District 9: Dustin Hillis; District 10: Andrea L. Boone; District 11: Marci Collier Overstreet; District 12: Antonio Lewis; Post 1 At-Large: Michael Julian Bond; Post 2 At-Large: Matt Westmoreland; and Post 3 At-Large: VACANT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close Search Window